Meet Our New Gap Students

Samuel Murphy and Miriam Barbara arrived at St John’s on Friday 17th February as our new Gap Students, from across the pond in Australia. There roles will include assisting in the Sports Department, with both of them passionate about football, as well spending time with our boarders in the evening and during the weekend. 

When asked about the upbringings in Australia, this is what they said:

“My name is Samuel Murphy, I am from a country town in rural New South Wales named Tamworth. I grew up in the county working on farms and coming from a very practical family. I have three younger siblings two sisters and a brother, along with two very supportive parents. After I finished school, I was working as a groundkeeper from mowing lawns and rolling cricket pitches and lifeguard our local pools of a weekend. I have a big passion for sport, from playing cricket to football and any other sport that I was given an opportunity to play. Fun fact I found a love for formula one and motor racing from growing up watching the Bathurst 1000 every year. I have a pet dog, he’s a grey border collie x kelpie named Gus and he is great fun and good for walk. Growing up in Australia I was able to experience hanging with my mates outdoors, from swimming in the river and to the going to the beach, which is where I found a love for fishing, which I have invested way too much time and money into but it’s great fun. Growing up around a family farm of almost 500 acres and visiting extended family farms of 25000 acres I was climatized to the farming environment, Which had its benefits from hunting and riding motorbikes on a weekly basis. I am most grateful for this opportunity to work and experience life in the UK, especially only really experiencing life in the country in Australia.”

– Samuel Murphy

“I come from a country town in NSW called Tamworth, which is most well-known for holding Australia’s annual Country Music Festival. My favourite thing to do in life is play and watch sport, most of all being football. I have been supporting Manchester City ever since I first heard of the Premier League and for the past couple of years, I have been waking up at 1:00AM Australian time to watch them play. An interesting fact about me is that for many years my dad used to teach at a boy’s boarding school in town. For a couple of years during that time, my family and I lived in a house on school grounds. It is safe to say I am no stranger to boys boarding school! Another interest of mine is animals – as a child I always wanted to be a vet. Back home in Australia I have a 13-year-old Border Collie named ‘Frizbee’ and a 1-year-old Tabby cat named ‘Merc’, both of which I will miss lots.” 

– Miriam Barbara 

Welcome to the St John’s family Sam and Miriam! We look forward to getting to know you over the next ten months.